Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

Vigor2862vac 4G Modem on WAN2

• coldfinger
  • Topic Author
More
07 Dec 2018 23:18 #1 by coldfinger
Vigor2862vac 4G Modem on WAN2 was created by coldfinger
Hi,
I'm trying unsuccessfully to configure a 4G modem to WAN2 of a Vigor2862vac router. The 4G modem in bridge mode works OK with direct connection to a laptop but doesn't work if I connect it to WAN2 of the 2862 router.
I therefore presume I'm not configuring WAN2 correctly. The manual covers USB 4G modems but not Ethernet 4G modems.

The reason I'm using an Ethernet 4G modem is so that I can place the modem close to an external aerial for better reception, i.e in the loft, whereas the router is downstairs.
Any guidance (at complete novice level) would be appreciated as I'm fed up with my poor ADSL connection when there's a good 4G service available.
Thanks for any advice

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• coldfinger
  • Topic Author
More
08 Dec 2018 00:02 #2 by coldfinger
Replied by coldfinger on topic Re: Vigor2862vac 4G Modem on WAN2
Sorry, should have included what I've done so far.
When I connected the 4G modem to the laptop the status of the Ethernet adaptor showed the ipv4 address as 10.27.96.0 and if I type 'myip' into google I get 85.255.236.xx.
When I connect the 4G modem to WAN2 of the 2862 router with it configured as 'Ethernet/DCHP' the IP address (on the dashboard) is 10.26.229.206. I would expect this address to be 85.something if it was connected to the internet.
If I disconnect the ADSL line I don't get any internet so WAN2 is not working.
Am I right to use 'Ethernet/DCHP'?
Thanks for any assistance

• coldfinger
  • Topic Author
More
08 Dec 2018 00:04 #3 by coldfinger
Ooops, DHCP!

More
10 Dec 2018 07:57 #4 by admin
Replied by admin on topic Re: Vigor2862vac 4G Modem on WAN2
If the PC worked with DHCP then I'd expect the router to use the same.

Forum Administrator

More
11 Dec 2018 12:44 #5 by andew