DrayTek UK Users' Community Forum

Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

setup vpn for remote dial in worker & dyndns: vigor 2830n

• tester2830n
  • Topic Author
More
30 Apr 2011 15:54 #1 by tester2830n
Can someone provide a guide to setup vpn on vigor 2830n. I have no success. I have been following these two documentations on the internet:

http://www.draytek.com/.upload/support/Application/vpn/X.509/pdf/2.2_Smart_VPN_client_setup.pdf
http://www.equinux.com/cms_components/media/vpnt/VPNT_Interop_Howtos/1093/DrayTek-RemoteDialInUserProfile-6-EN.pdf

I am not an expert in VPN and have knowledge about Networking.

This is what I want to do:

1) I have a dyndns account. This is setup in the vigor 2830n router. I checked the status on the router, it says successful for dyndns.

2) I need to remote desktop into my windows server machine sitting in local ip address using My_account.dyndns.org via VPN IPSec tunnelling.

In the vigor 2830n, each Lan1, Lan2, Lan3, Lan4 are labelled as separate subnet. If I hookup my windows server on lan2, local ip/subnet as follows

192.168.3.1/255.255.255.0

If I set the windows server on lan2, then for example, do I set the static ip address to 192.168.3.200 and subnet mask to 255.255.255.0. The default gateway for this subnet is 192.168.3.1?

Can someone tell me what I need to setup to get dyndns vpn to work:

1) Peer ID
2) Pre-shared key
3) Lan IP Address
4) Lan Subnet Address
5) Lan Network Address

I have set the smart vpn client on my laptop, but the client says I am connected but on the router there is connection listed. When I ping my My_Account.dyndns.org, it gets timed out and I never get "Negotiating IPSec Security". I have spent bit of time. No avail. Please help. Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
30 Apr 2011 21:24 #2 by nobody
If you are new to the Router and VPN, first, make things simpler.