DrayTek UK Users' Community Forum

Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

2820n - Internal modem dies?

• linker3000
  • Topic Author
More
25 Aug 2015 20:55 #1 by linker3000
2820n - Internal modem dies? was created by linker3000
Line speed and general throughput on a 2820n had decreased from around 5.5 -> 3Mbit over the last few months, but I'd not paid too much attention to the issue due to the 'imminent' (That's a 'BT/Openreach 'imminent') arrival of FTTC (still waiting), but today I lost all signals to/from the exchange and could not establish a link.

My ISP did some line checks while I was at work and confirmed no specific faults. When I checked the unit later, I found that it works fine with a Vigor 120 on Wan port 2, so I suspect the internal modem has been degrading/dying for a while.

I'll crack open the 2820n sometime to take a look (I am a qualified electronics engineer with a soldering iron!), but just on the off-chance: Are there any known common faults with the 2820 or 28-series Drayteks in general that affect the internal modem (known bad capacitor, isolation transformer etc.?), or will it be suck it and see time? I don't think we've had any major electrical storms recently.

Thanks

L3K

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 Aug 2015 13:47 #2 by pol098
Replied by pol098 on topic Re: 2820n - Internal modem dies?