• k1s
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • User
More
19 Jan 2018 10:32 #1 by k1s
2862 VLAN & VPN setup was created by k1s
Hello,

I’m about to try to set up a home office network using a Draytek 2862ac as the router, making use of VLANs to separate various devices from each other. I’m new to VLANs & VPNs and have some questions about how best to make it work.

I’d like it work like this:

VLAN ID 1 Office PCs and laptop access to internet and Synology NAS file server, printer, with all these accessible from the internet (via a VPN?)
VLAN ID 2 for Home users’ phones and laptops that allows access to internet, the same Synology NAS file server, printer and Phillips Hue Bridge
VLAN ID 3 for Media devices TVs, STBs, PS4, gaming PC to access the internet, and 1 port of a second Synology NAS that serves media to the TVs via Plex (the other port)
VLAN ID 4 for Guests that allows internet access and printer
VLAN ID 5 for IP cameras – kept away from the rest of the network, and accessible from the internet via a VPN
VLAN ID 6 for domestic IoT devices (Bosch ovens, dishwasher, washing machine, etc.), no access to anything else or to the internet, but accessible from phone apps via the internet

I was thinking to have corresponding Wifi SSIDs match the VLANs, i.e. something like:
Office – tagged (if that’s the right terminology) with VLAN ID 1
HomeUser - tagged with VLAN ID 2
Media - tagged with VLAN ID 3
Guest - tagged with VLAN ID 4
IoT - tagged with VLAN ID 6
(IP cameras are only connected via ethernet, so don’t need one)

The physical connections to the devices/”hosts?” are made using 3 switches (2 Netgear GS116Ev2 , and a GST110TP for the PoE devices comprising IP Cameras and a TP-Link EAS245 Access Point for the ground floor) as follows:

So the questions:
1. Which VLAN IDs should the router’s ports be tagged with?
a. Should it be just the IDs that are those of the VLANs that the devices/hosts connected to them are “allowed”.