Vigor 130 DS Slows to a Crawl

• kenneths
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • User
More
04 Feb 2018 10:38 #1 by kenneths
Vigor 130 DS Slows to a Crawl was created by kenneths
I have a BT Infinity 2 connection (FTTC) and have been using a Vigor 130 since July 2017, which has until recently been extremely reliable. Over the past few weeks something is causing my download speeds to come to a crawl (from a usual ~60Mbs to less than 1), although the upload speed (~12Mbs) and ping times remain unaffected. I am not very technically advanced, and have been unable to identify/correct the issue. Restarting the Vigor 130 when this happens always solves the problem (but it comes back in a matter of days or less). I did try running the alternate firmware provided by Draytek but the modem would not connect (it said Training in the status menu and I gave up after several minutes and went back to the 3.8.1.2_BT version).

Please help!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• adrianh54
  • User
  • User
More
06 Feb 2018 06:45 #2 by adrianh54
Replied by adrianh54 on topic Re: Vigor 130 DS Slows to a Crawl
Do you have a spare modem or a BT Hub you can try for a week or 2? If the speed still drops you know the problem is external.

• kenneths
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • User
More
06 Feb 2018 14:01 #3 by kenneths
Replied by kenneths on topic Re: Vigor 130 DS Slows to a Crawl

AdrianH54 wrote: Do you have a spare modem or a BT Hub you can try for a week or 2? If the speed still drops you know the problem is external.

That is a good suggestion. Unfortunately while I have the BT HH5 (still new in box, never used) my understanding is it is not possible to set it up in modem-only configuration and I really would like to keep my router in situ (it has been lovingly configured for my home network). But I may have to swap in the HH5 if I am unable to come to any other conclusion for why the speed drop is happening.