Static route?

• federal12
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • User
More
07 Sep 2018 14:07 #1 by federal12
Static route? was created by federal12
Hi, I’m not a network expert but could do with some help from someone who knows what they’re talking about!
I have a site with 2 2860 boxes, one which I have control over and one that I don’t. Obviously I’ll need the assistance of the other company involved but wanted an understanding of how to achieve my goal. My nextwork is purely supporting an IP PBX, the other network is purely supporting the PC network, both have their own separate broadband connections.
The issue I have is that they want to use CTI functions on their PC’s which will involve communicating with a single static IP on my network. I’m unsure what their network is using at present but let’s assume it’s 192.168.1.1/24 . The PBX on my network is on 192.168.11.101. How do I get their PC’s to communicate with the PBX? Obviously there needs to be a physical connection between the routers - what do I connect to what and how do I configure the static route? I had a quick look at static routes but couldn’t quite follow it. It mentions a second gateway but setting that up is the bit I’m not sure on. I’m guessing it’s quite easy, I’m just not seeing it and as the site is now live I can’t just play with it as I would normally, so please forgive me asking before having put in the effort to resolve for myself that I normally would.

TIA

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• hornbyp
  • User
  • User
More
07 Sep 2018 23:21 #2 by hornbyp
Replied by hornbyp on topic Re: Static route?
I would have thought you would do something like:-

• Create a single port VLAN of 192.168.11.0/24 on 'their' 2860, on (say) Port 6

• Create a single port VLAN of 192.168.1.0/24 on yours, on (say) Port 6