Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

Firmware update to Vigor 130 modem and BT broadband issues

• bigbertie
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • User
More
21 Sep 2018 16:17 #1 by bigbertie
Hello...I'm a newbie! As background I also understand very little of the jargon and technicalities I'm afraid so really struggle making things work unless they can be put in very simple term!

I could do with some help please! I'm on BT broadband and had been using the latest Homehub/Superhub (6). what I found was that although it worked fine, the range wasn't very good...even in a timber house...and of late there had been signal drop outs, restarts and connection loss ...none of which happened when I first got the hub. So I thought I'd solve the coverage issue by investing in a Netgear Orbi 50 web router system and because I had read about issues with various modems, I plumped for the Draytek Vigor 130 modem.

All these have been set up and the system is working OK. Coverage is noticeably better although speed has dropped a bit (particularly upload that has dropped from around 19 to 13/14. The Vigor 130 firmware is V3.8.1.2 which is not the latest. There is a recommended update on the Draytek site which I have downloaded. But now I'm stuck! For a landlubber like me, the various notes on how to instal might as well be in a foreign language...I don't have a clue what to do or how to access the modem (I'm on Mac/IOS). I can't find anything that installs the upgrade automatically or that guides me through and am totally confused. Having spent days if not weeks in the distant past trying to get old windows things to work, I really don't want to get into that situation again so until I can get an idiots guide to upgrading, I've concluded that its probably best to leave the modem with old firmware rather than mess it all up!