DrayTek UK Users' Community Forum

Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

Help with setup of strict firewall (multi-WAN setup).

• logart
  • Topic Author
More
06 Oct 2018 06:46 #1 by logart
Hello, I just bought draytek 2926n device. I'm a noob in Networking so i want to ask for some help.

I need to run a server with 2 WAN lines (Cable modem and LTE usb modem) for failover. I need high uptime and security. I want to apply a strict firewall to a device in the LAN in specific. Meaning i want to close all the WAN>LAN and LAN>WAN ports, only allowing traffic to the ports i will need in that device.

I've read tutorials but i still don't get it :/

I was curious about VLAN and managed to assign 192.168.2.1 to the wireless LAN. Now wireless is LAN 2. I want to make a test in a wireless computer and see if i can block all blocks and only allow traffic on the ports i will want.

i will be really grateful if a get help :)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• logart
  • Topic Author
More
10 Oct 2018 01:07 #2 by logart
Any feedback?

• hopkins35
  • User
  • User
More
10 Oct 2018 10:45 #3 by hopkins35
My advice would be to change the default firewall rule in Firewall >> General Setup >> Default Rule >> Filter from 'pass' to 'block'. This means that all inbound connections would be blocked by default. You can setup your allowed connections by creating new rules in the default data filter or create and name a new set. Inbound connections should be set as WAN -> LAN/RT/VPN, source ip would be any unless your only allowing from a fixed IP, destination ip would be your server's IP and service type would be the protocol and port or ports in question (source port would normally be 1-65535 with the destination port fixed e.g. destination port 443 TCP for HTTPS to a webserver)

• logart
  • Topic Author
More
11 Oct 2018 05:32 #4 by logart