Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

Issues setting up Vlan and DHCP

• andykeen
  • Topic Author
More
05 Sep 2020 11:30 #1 by andykeen
Issues setting up Vlan and DHCP was created by andykeen
Hi All.
Would anyone be able to offer some guidance and help on our issue.

For Monday we need to set-up a Vlan for a client to separate-out some devices from their network and of course a Vlan seems to be the best way to go. We also need the DrayTek to issue IP's via the Vlan's DHCP. The DHCP IP Scope doesn't matter at the moment, it can be anything but the Draytek itself needs to have an IP of 192.168.16.4 for the Windows network Default Gateway (Windows issues IP's for the main LAN) - so this Vlan can be 192.168.17.xxx for example.

We have two DrayTek's to choose from a 2620n and 2630n. The 2630n seems more capable at Vlan, but I am no expert.

I have 25 years of IT Experience but never had to configure from scratch a Vlan.
So far, on the 2630n, we have created the Vlan and allocated it to the LAN port 2 on the Draytek device but when I connect my laptop to the DrayTek port I do not get an IP from the scope for that Vlan - I am not sure where I am going wrong.

I am also connecting this Draytek to a Cisco Layered switch which I can hopefully work out after I have the Draytek working.

I would really appreciate it if I can get some help by return.
If there is anyone on here that charge for their services and could remote to our network and configure for me that would be great also

Any help would be much appreciated.
Thank you
Andy

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• hornbyp
  • User
  • User
More
06 Sep 2020 01:19 #2 by hornbyp
Replied by hornbyp on topic Re: Issues setting up Vlan and DHCP

AndyKeen wrote: