Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

Draytek 2962 WAN Connection

• leewol
  • Topic Author
More
10 Jul 2021 16:14 #1 by leewol
Draytek 2962 WAN Connection was created by leewol
Hi all,

This is my very first port & I’m quite new to networking so apologies in advance for what might seem like a stupid question.

First of all let me explain the scenario.

Virgin Media SuperHub 4.0 - IP Address 192.168.100.1
Draytek 2962 - IP Address 192.168.0.1:8080

I use Virgin Media as my ISP and have been using the Virgin SuperHub 3.0 in modem mode connected to a Draytek 2862 router for many months without any issues using the same IP addresses as per above.

Recently, I upgraded to the VM 1GB broadband & so VM sent me the new SuperHub 4 of which I have connected currently to the existing 2862 without any issues.

So because of the speed upgrade & went out and got the 2962 because of the 1 / 2.5 GB pass through but when I connect the Virgin Hub to the P1 or P2 WAN port (tried them both) the router isn’t getting a WAN connection even though the green lights on the front are on.

I have ‘IP Network Settings’ set to ‘Obtain IP address automatically’ just like on the 2862.

I suspect it may be because the VM Superhub & Draytek are on different subnets & if so I would like to change the IP address of the hub which would be easier rather than change all my internal hosts but I believe this cannot be done.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Many thanks.
Lee.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• hornbyp
  • User
  • User
More
11 Jul 2021 03:04 #2 by hornbyp
Replied by hornbyp on topic Re: Draytek 2962 WAN Connection

LeeWol wrote:
I suspect it may be because the VM Superhub & Draytek are on different subnets & if so I would like to change the IP address of the hub which would be easier rather than change all my internal hosts but I believe this cannot be done.