DrayTek UK Users' Community Forum

Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

Same-subnet/VLan traffic

• robroger37
  • Topic Author
More
14 Mar 2022 15:12 #1 by robroger37
Same-subnet/VLan traffic was created by robroger37
Dear members of the Forum, I have a technical question regarding the "Vigor 2866ax" router and I hope you can help me (for full disclosure, I am a complet newbie in networking).

For security purposes, how can I stop VLans that are on the same subnet (LAN5 for example) from communicating with each other?

a) When the VLans are on different subnets, for example, I can disable Inter-Lan routing thus creating isolation.
b) For Wireless Lans, I can use the "isolate member" option. I can assign a different unique VLan to each SSID and then enable the "isolate member" option to prevent different clients connected to the same SSID (therefore same VLan, in this case) from communicating with each other.
c) But how can I prevent clients connected to different VLans that are on the same subnet (for example LAN 5) from communicating with each other?
Can this be achieved? Do I need to set up a special firewall rule?
Or is it pointless perhaps because "same-subnet/VLan traffic" will always be allowed, maybe because it will never be sent to the default gateway and, therefore, cannot be filtered by the firewall?

Hope yhis question makes sense.
Thank you for your help.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• hornbyp
  • User
  • User
More
14 Mar 2022 17:07 #2 by hornbyp
Replied by hornbyp on topic Re: Same-subnet/VLan traffic

RobRoger37 wrote:
c) But how can I prevent clients connected to different VLans that are on the same subnet (for example LAN 5) from communicating with each other?
Can this be achieved? Do I need to set up a special firewall rule?