Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

Draytek 2927 + Starlink + DHCP

• folderol
  • Topic Author
More
31 Mar 2022 21:11 #1 by folderol
Draytek 2927 + Starlink + DHCP was created by folderol
Hi,

Networking newbie here. Apologies in advance. I have a Draytek 2927 router which uses a Starlink dish as its main internet provision (with LTE failover, though this is irrelevant to this query I think). The Starlink dish has a DHCP server that (to the best of my knowledge) can't be disabled. I need reserved IP addresses for some devices on my network (which the Starlink doesn't support). If I turn DHCP on on the Draytek, devices still seem to get their IP addresses from the Starlink. I've had long exchanges with Draytek support to no avail.

I get that you never want two DHCP servers on the same network. But if I can't disable the Starlink, what are my options? I feel like I'm missing some fundamental simple solution here. The 2927 is part of an extensive wired network which included a few unmanaged 8 port switches.

I guess my basic question is: in a physically wired network that includes the 2927 and the Starlink, when a device is first connected it's just going to find the first DHCP server it can and get an IP address and subnet from there. It can't be limited to some subnet because it doesn't yet know anything about its place in the network, right? I think the topology I want is for the 2927 and Starlink to be one 'space' and the 2927, switches and WAPs to be another 'space' such that devices in the latter space are able to get their connection to the outside world via the 2927 (and thence Starlink) but otherwise can't 'see' the Starlink. (And I know you can dispense with the Starlink router, but the dish itself is a DHCP server, right?)

As I type this, I feel sure the answer is simple but I've now confused myself so much with LANs, VLANs, subnet masks etc. etc. that I've completely lost the plot! Any help or pointers would be very much appreciated.