DrayTek UK Users' Community Forum

Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

VigorSwitch G1080 VLAN Question

• tibblethwaite
  • Topic Author
More
26 Nov 2020 23:14 #1 by tibblethwaite
VigorSwitch G1080 VLAN Question was created by tibblethwaite
Hi, my non-Draytek router has 2 VLANs set on it and I’m connecting the new VigorSwitch G1080 I just purchased to it. I’ve set a static IP on the switch because my router handles DHCP, but I’m having a bit of trouble understanding how I should configure the switch...

I’ve worked with Cisco switches previously but I’m not an expert. What I’m wanting to achieve here is:

• Configure port 1 as the trunk port, so that my 2 VLANs from the router, are delivered to the switch

• Configure VLAN100 on ports 2 & 3

• Configure VLAN 200 on port 4

I’m finding the UI quite unintuitive (sorry) and it seems to be written in poor English in places, which from a Quality Assurance point of view, is not the best. Additionally, the firmware hasn’t been updated for almost a year. Is this usual for Draytek?

Anyway, am I right in thinking that I should:

• Disable/shut any ports that I’m not using in the ‘Port Statistics’ section

• In the VLAN section, create my two matching VLAN IDs in the VLAN List

• On the row for VLAN ID 1, leave port 01 untagged and then make all other ports on the row ‘Not a Member’

• Tag ports 02 and 03 on the VLAN 100 row and make all other ports on the row ‘Not a Member’

• Tag port 04 on the VLAN 200 row and make all other ports on the row ‘Not a Member’

• Then back to the top under PVID, ensure that I have set PVID 1 on port 01 with isolation ‘disabled’

• Set PVID 100 on ports 02 and 03 with isolation ‘enabled’

• Set PVID 200 on port 04 with isolation ‘enabled’

Does that sound about right or have I misconfigured/missed something? If someone could help I’d be really grateful. Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• tibblethwaite
  • Topic Author
More