• crazzyfool
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • User
More
10 Jun 2018 21:43 #1 by crazzyfool
IPSec passthrough with two DrayTek devices was created by crazzyfool
Hi,

Please help me before I lose my mind! I’m by no means a networking expert and am not 100% sure what I’m trying to achieve is even possible or if I simply have some kind of misconfiguration.

I have a double NAT configuration using the DrayTek Vigor 2860 and the Vigor 2830Vn-plus like so:

Code:
+------------+ | Internet | +------------+ | WAN: Public IP +------------------+ |Vigor 2860 | +------------------+ | LAN: 192.168.111.254 | | | | | WAN: 192.168.111.1 +------------------+ |Vigor 2830Vn plus | +------------------+ LAN: 192.168.1.254 DHCP: 192.168.1.1 - 192.168.1.50

And am trying to configure VPN as per the below guide:

https://www.draytek.com/en/faq/faq-vpn/vpn.host-to-lan/windows-10-built-in-vpn-to-vigor-router/

If I follow the above on the first router (2860), it all works correctly. However I get a 192.168.111.0 address instead of a 192.168.1.0. I then configured IPSec L2TP passthrough on the 2860 as per.

https://www.draytek.com/en/faq/faq-vpn/vpn.others/how-to-set-up-vigor-router-to-pass-through-vpn-tunnel/

And then configured the 2830Vn-plus as the VPN server as per the first link. This is where it fails. The IPSec part does not seem to work. If on the Windows client I instead select just username and password, it works but I get an unencrypted L2TP connection showing on the second (2830) router. If however I select the pre-shared key, it fails! :cry:

Any ideas why this would be? Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• anaglypta
  • User
  • User
More
11 Jun 2018 22:34 #2 by anaglypta
Replied by anaglypta on topic Re: IPSec passthrough with two DrayTek devices
Hello @crazzyfool,