DrayTek UK Users' Community Forum

Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

Weird wi-fi issues (2862ac / 5GHz)

• x64
  • Topic Author
More
21 May 2018 20:28 #1 by x64
I've been troubleshooting a strange wi-fi issue with a 2862ac which is in my home network. My trade is that I'm a 3rd line network technician, with over 30 years experience. I'd thought I'd seen everything until now....

The scenario is 5GHz and 2.4GHz on same SSID. 2.4 GHz works fine, 5GHz is troublesome. In particular the wifi connects, and apparently gets an IP address, but sometimes cannot communicate to the router for a much larger time period after connecting that you would expect. This particularly affects Apple devices (Late 2016 MacBook pro, iPhone 6s, iPad Air), but I've also occasionally seen it an old Windows laptop. I also note the thread here from a couple of months ago about Apple Wi-Fi issues. However the Wi-Fi is correctly negotiated at both 2862 and MacBook end - see the detail in the scenario below.

It's easier to explain with a scenario so here is one:
V2862ac [3.8.8_BT] serving the same SSID on both frequencies, plumbed to LAN1. Serves DHCP.
Late 2016 Macbook pro on Wi-Fi (negotiates 'ac', about 4ft from the 2862)
Old HP laptop on Wi-Fi (5Ghz capable but only 'g', also about 4ft form the 2862)
Windows desktop, wired direct to the 2862, port on LAN1.

Macbook continuous pings router LAN1 IP and the desktop.
Windows Laptop continuous the router LAN1 IP and the MacBook
Desktop pings the MacBook continuously.

On MacBook manually disconnect wifi (option click wi-fi icon choose disconnect), note that all pings affecting the MacBook start to fail as expected.
When the problem bites it then manifests itself as follows.....
Manually reconnect wifi from MacBook. It usually negotiates quickly, and at 5GHz.
Pings from desktop and windows laptop to MacBook start to succeed, as does the ping from MacBook to desktop - all good so far...