• yahya01
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • User
More
16 Sep 2022 02:57 #1 by yahya01
Wi-Fi extender was created by yahya01
Hi

We need to extend the range of Wi-Fi on our current 2866Lac router. What Draytek Wi-Fi range extenders would you recommend to go with 2866Lac? Are Mesh AP better?

Thanks

Regards

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 Sep 2022 22:48 #2 by edinburgh
Replied by edinburgh on topic Re: Wi-Fi extender
Mesh would be better, as it allows smooth access. You'd probably need to switch off WiFi on the Draytek and just use the mesh. However, I have no experience of Draytek's range extenders, so it's better if others contribute here. You should also read some comments on this forum regarding the mesh 'upgrade' on Drayteks before you make any decisions.

I'm using Devolo Magic 1 to extend my WiFi and as a mesh system, but remember that powerline adapters can interfere with VDSL signal if you're on VDSL (I've found that Magic 1 is better at mitigating interference than Magic 2; plus, Devolo also communicates with my Fritzbox using the TR-064 protocol to mitigate the negative impact of powerline adapters on the quality of the connection).

• hornbyp
  • User
  • User
More
22 Sep 2022 23:54 #3 by hornbyp
Replied by hornbyp on topic Re: Wi-Fi extender

edinburgh wrote:
I'm using Devolo Magic 1 to extend my WiFi and as a mesh system, but remember that powerline adapters can interfere with VDSL signal if you're on VDSL

Personally I'm not enamoured by Draytek's "Mesh" - there's a post of mine somewhere in here detailing my experiences. I don't use it any more :(

I arrived at my Brother-in-law's one day, to find him tearing his hair out, trying to get the (pricey) Devolo stuff to work. Being an ex IT professional, I was able to use my ability to enter a Zen-like state of calm, while dealing with misbehaving equipment :)