Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

Change fixed IP to DHCP.....OUCH!

• floriank
  • Topic Author
More
24 Feb 2010 23:23 #1 by floriank
Change fixed IP to DHCP.....OUCH! was created by floriank
Hi all,

My only experience in networking is with fixed IPs. I have 12 sites up and running with many computers each, all running on fixed IPs via various Draytek Vigor routers without any problems. I have VPNs connecting them all and it's all smooth sailing.

Recently I installed a Vodafone FemtoCell at one site and this insists on a DHCP assigned IP address, so I had to change the setup at that site from fixed IPs to DHCP assigned IPs.

I am a COMPLETE novice when it comes to DHCP and after reading up on things a bit I successfully got the router (2820n) up and running and all computers onsite are connecting to the internet through wireless connectivity without any problems.

HOWEVER - I cannot share anything between the machines and when I try to ping any of computers on the wireless network I get a "Reply from 192.168.1.18: Destination host unreachable". The IP address obviously changes for different machines.

I've tried to set up a Home Network Group in Win7 but cannot connect to any of the other machines. The other clients are shown in the network map but the connecting lines are only dotted. When I use the web interface on the router I can ping all connected clients successfully from the router but when doing this between the clients directly I get the above result.

As I'm really not familiar with DHCP I must have set something up incorrectly and simply cannot figure out what it is. Probably something really simple.....

Please be gentle with me!!!

Thanks
Florian

Router 192.168.1.1
Clients 192.168.1.10-192.168.1.20
Subnet 255.255.255.0
Vigor 2820n
Firmware: 3.3.2.1_232201
Win7 and Vista mixed environment
HP wireless printer

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 Feb 2010 12:29 #2 by njh