Help, Advice and Solutions from DrayTek Users

2925ac Port 10/100Mbs... but why?

• flippinekfaria
  • Topic Author
More
27 Jan 2018 16:58 #1 by flippinekfaria
2925ac Port 10/100Mbs... but why? was created by flippinekfaria
Hello from a newbie,

I've just installed a Vigor 2925ac in my home/office for the purpose of splitting home equipment from work equipment using the Port VLAN capability... all seemed well. I thought I was done, chuffed in fact, but I've noticed the 'office' is not getting a full 300Mbps+.

The router dashboard is clearly showing 'amber' on LAN port 5 which is dedicated to the office VLAN, that tells me a 10/100Mbps connection. This port is connected directly to a small LinkSYS (LGS105) gigbit switch but unsurprisingly the connectivity of all the onward servers/devices is capped at 90-100Mbps like the router suggests.

Can anyone assist and point out the error of my ways so that I can get this port connected at 1Gbps; I'm not a network engineer so it might be very straight forward?

Thanks,
FEF.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Jan 2018 18:09 #2 by piste basher
Replied by piste basher on topic Re: 2925ac Port 10/100Mbs... but why?
Have you tried a different cable?

• flippinekfaria
  • Topic Author
More
27 Jan 2018 19:01 #3 by flippinekfaria
Replied by flippinekfaria on topic Re: 2925ac Port 10/100Mbs... but why?
Thanks for the quick reply.

Changing the cable between the router and the office is going to be tricky, it's an externally run Cat5e about 40-50m long. However, I plugged a laptop directly into the back of the router, on the other VLAN ports, and again using a Cat5e cable got exactly the same result (Amber 10/100Mbps). This is odd as the device plugged into the neighbouring port is a NAS drive and comes up 'green', so really confused what the difference could be.

Happy to try something else, any thoughts?

• hornbyp
  • User
  • User
More
28 Jan 2018 00:28 #4 by hornbyp