• sidewinder
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • User
More
08 Jan 2019 22:28 #1 by sidewinder
Cannot browse network over VPN was created by sidewinder
Hello,
I wonder if anyone can shed some light onto my situation please?

I'm not an expert on this stuff, and I've struggled with what I call advanced networking stuff before, and you guys on here have been kind enough to help, last time it was internal VLAN's, that's sorted, and I have had the VPN "dial in" set up for a while, but, I've never bothered with the user names as I am now trying to, because I was the only used & I could know the ip addresses.
However my daughter has now moved out, and I would like to give her a secure route back home to the NAS & printers.

So, I have a Draytek 2860vnp, and I have a "dial in" VPN set up, with the relevant user names passwords etc. all set up and working, it is sat on a fixed IP from our ISP, and all that side is fine.

I can access all the remote (home) network resources via their local IP address, i.e. that is the internal home network IP address, that includes our Network Attached Storage device, however, I cannot browse the network, nor can I access the NAS via it's computer name "diskstation", but I can access it as I say via the IP.

Any suggestions please?

Thanks in advance

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• hornbyp
  • User
  • User
More
09 Jan 2019 00:23 #2 by hornbyp
Replied by hornbyp on topic Re: Cannot browse network over VPN
It might be as easy as ...

...Enabling Netbios Browsing, for the "Remote Access User Account" (from VPN and Remote Access >> Remote Dial-in User )

• sidewinder
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • User
More
09 Jan 2019 07:20 #3 by sidewinder
Replied by sidewinder on topic Re: Cannot browse network over VPN
Thanks, unfortunately that is already enabled/set to allow/pass Netbios naming packet! ;(

NetBios is also set to be on, on the "dial in" computers too.

More
09 Jan 2019 10:01 #4 by chrisw